Two-year courses for Ordinands

In common with other Anglican theological colleges we offer the Common Awards in Theology, Ministry and Mission validated by Durham University. These courses are offered alongside the Cambridge University options.

Further information is available about The Common Awards at

Two-year Ministerial Theology Courses:

Ridley libraryDiploma in Higher Education (Common Awards)

This is the standard route for ordinands doing two years of training.  Those who have completed the equivalent of a Certificate elsewhere (one year of full-time theological education) may be able to enter Common Awards at Level 5 instead of Level 4 and then complete the BA Honours degree in their second year.  

Two-year Bachelor of Theology (BTh)

A two-year course, awarded by University of Cambridge and taught by Federation tutorial staff. This degree assumes some prior theological study, and is a vocational degree for Christian ministry combining more demanding theological and practical study. Candidates require a high 2:1 or better in a previous degree.

More detailed information at

Graduate Diploma (Common Awards)

This award is for those who have studied theology previously for two or three years. It consists of mainly Level 6 modules from Common Awards and may be followed by an MA or Postgraduate Diploma.  Students with outstanding results from their previous degree may alternatively apply for the Cambridge University MPhil.

Diploma in Theology for Ministry (DTM) followed by an MA or MPhil

This is for theology graduates with an outstanding degree who have been recommended as "potential theological educators". 

The DTM is a one-year course offering a range of options required for ordination. It is awarded by the University of Cambridge. 

The DTM can be followed by either an MPhil or an MA. Successful completion of the MPhil could lead to PhD study.

Candidates with a previous degree in theology normally take the MA over two years. An MA consists of six taught modules and a dissertation. The first year normally consists of four MA modules, while the second year includes the remaining two taught modules and the dissertation. A full-time course of study each year is made up by taking additional modules, especially in areas of practical ministry that are not covered by the MA course.

More detailed information: