Two-year courses for Ordinands

In common with other Anglican theological colleges we offer the Common Awards in Theology, Ministry and Mission validated by Durham University. These courses are offered alongside the Cambridge University options.

Further information is available about The Common Awards at

Two-year Ministerial Theology Courses:

Ridley libraryDiploma in Higher Education (Common Awards)

This is the standard route for ordinands doing two years of training.  Those who have completed the equivalent of a Certificate elsewhere (one year of full-time theological education) may be able to enter Common Awards at Level 5 instead of Level 4 and then complete the BA Honours degree in their second year.  

Two-year Bachelor of Theology (BTh)

A two-year course, awarded by University of Cambridge and taught by Federation tutorial staff. This degree assumes some prior theological study, and is a vocational degree for Christian ministry combining more demanding theological and practical study. Candidates require a high 2:1 or better in a previous degree.

More detailed information at

Graduate Diploma (Common Awards)

This award is for those who have studied theology previously for two or three years. It consists of mainly Level 6 modules from Common Awards and may be followed by an MA or Postgraduate Diploma.  Students with outstanding results from their previous degree may alternatively apply for the Cambridge University MPhil.